It’s been a long day traveling and I’ve spent more than four hours with the PNG Karate team on our way to the Oceania Karate Championships in Suva, Fiji. What normally would have started out as a simple day, turned out to be quite interesting.

Firstly, let’s start with the morning when I had to wait for 30 minutes for my office doors to be opened because I had forgotten to pack my passport.

When I arrive at the airport all the athletes have checked in. However, myself and the other officials could not because our bookings had been cancelled at the thirteenth hour because of some changes. We managed to rebook but one of our officials could not board on time. He will come tomorrow.

After that it has been smooth sailing all the way despite the rowdiness you get when you fill a room with teenagers.

We arrived at Nadi International Airport around 5:40pm (Fijian time) and after immigration checks and other final briefings boarded our coach at 6:45 for Suva.

PNG Karate team
PNG Karate team on arrival at Nadi International Airport.

The athletes will be staying at the Tanoa Plaza for the duration of the stay while I and other officials will stay at the Southern Cross Hotel just a block away.

Anyway, subscribe if you’d like to keep updated with the team and its vinaka from myself and the team in Suva.

