KBBR is my home for the week.
KBBR is my home for the week.

This week I am on duty travel to East New Britain (ENB) with my boss Lonnie. We are here to collect data for the Annual Survey of Institutes of Higher Education (ASIHE) and Kokopo Beach Bungalow Resort will be my home until Saturday.

My bungalow
My bungalow

The resort is great with friendly staff and great bungalows. However, I faced a funny situation when I first got there.

My bathroom.
My bathroom.

On the first day, we checked in and I was given room 43 but when I rushed in I found someone in the room. Fortunately, the person was asleep – and clothed! It would have been a nasty surprise if he wasn’t.

The view of the pool from my bungalow.
The view of the pool from my bungalow.

Anyway, I was promptly given another room and today moved to another. However, the staffs are pretty friendly and I am satisfied with the service.

The food is great but the menu is not available on Sundays so you’ll have to be content with barbecue. On the bright side, continental breakfast is complimentary and you get to have the province’s fresh fruit for to welcome the day.

Continental breakfast is complimentary and fresh.
Continental breakfast is complimentary and fresh.

There is also a pool but who needs it when you can enjoy nature’s own pool – the beach, which has amazing views of the volcanic islands.

A great view from the beach.
A great view from the beach.

Now, if you don’t want to get your feet wet and sandy then simply enjoying the view from the resort’s deck is definitely something you can enjoy – if you are not scared of heights.

The deck - if you are not afraid of heights.
The deck – if you are not afraid of heights.

I check out on Sunday but I’ve enjoyed my stay so far and this place will obviously be my choice of accommodation the next time I visit Kokopo.

