I’ve noticed a good number of school aged children not where they are supposed to be at certain times of the day.

In May I took a video of this kid selling newspapers along the Waigani Drive. When I asked him why he was not in school, he gave me a blank look. However, he is not the only one.

Around the town area you will find them trying to direct the chaotic traffic even during school days. So why aren’t they in school?

The parents have been greatly assisted with the government’s tuition fee free subsidy so why aren’t they making sure their children go to school?

I think welfare and social workers should start doing something about this as they kid are being deprived the right to an education, be it their own fault or their parents.

If we all just spectate then we are all culpable for the future of these kids.

