It seems the Immigration people are still trying to avoid me. Last week I made a request through email to the immigration department regarding a formal explanation to why they cannot issue my niece in New Zealand a Papua New Guinea (PNG) passport.

I filled in a form on their website www.immigration.gov.pg and was promptly answered by an officer by the name of Liza-Ann Gabina. After several email exchanges she forwarded my request to the Assistant Director Magaret Pejoi-Geita. That was almost a week ago and I am yet to receive a reply.

Yesterday, in an attempt to get some feedback, I emailed them again only to find, this morning, a message from their ‘lost mail’ account.

The lost email message from the Immigration Services
The lost email message from the Immigration Services

It seems suspicious that no NDR messages were sent to my account so I tried to verify the email addresses I used and sure enough the emails checked out. I used the online service verify-email.org. Here is a snapshot of the returned messages I received.

Ms Pejoi-Geita's report
This is the verification report on Ms Pejoi-Geita's email address. The email seems to be valid.
Ms Liza-Ann Gabina's verification report.
This is the verification report on Ms Gabina's email address. The email seems valid too.

It seems someone within the department is avoiding my request and trying to hide behind technological bullshit. If I don’t get a response by next week, I’m going start going over their heads and I will even send a letter to the Minister responsible if need be.

