Lodging a passport application with the Papua New Guinea Immigration and Citizenship Service (PNGICS) can be a painful experience. The long queues of people, the tireless waiting, the slow service and the bureaucratic hog wash they use simply are a headache.

At the end of last year, my cousin in New Zealand sent a passport application for her daughter born in the “Land of the Long White Cloud”. Unfortunately they rejected the lodgement stating that her form was incomplete because it did not have the child’s father’s details and a couple of stamps. The officer then made a few recommendations which I emailed her (my cousin). This was promptly fixed with the appropriate documents faxed to me. I then went for the second time to lodge the documents – only to be rejected again.

This time the officer gave me some bullshit about the birth certificate not containing the father’s details and thus being incomplete. What a load of rubbish! There are so many valid reasons for omitting the father’s details on a birth certificate and I tried to explain but was met with a stone wall.

After all the waiting I ended up nowhere. I can understand bureaucracy but this is too much and the officer did not even care to explain why such an omission cannot be accepted.

I will be writing an official letter of complaint to the department and I hope some kind of understanding can be reached.

