Karate-Do Kyohan: The Master Text
Karate-Do Kyohan: The Master Text

My aunt in Australia recently contacted me and asked me what I wanted for my birthday which was back in July. I mentioned that I wanted a book by Gichin Funakoshi called Karate-Dō Kyōhan: The Master Text.

For those unfamiliar with the name, he is the founder of modern Karate having formalized the curriculum, introduced the dogi (karate uniform) which was actually borrowed from Judo and bringing the art to mainland Japan. However, that is another topic which I am currently writing for my martial arts blog PNG Warrior (http://pngwarrior.wordpress.com).

I have search the high and lows of Port Moresby for this book without any luck and when I got the opportunity to ask for something – I grabbed it. I know it sounds a bit selfish but with knowledge that is the way it should be. You must hunger for it otherwise it would be wasted.

Anyway, thanks to Aunty Grace, my book has been mailed and is on its way.

