Some titles of songs and films can really be insulting. I recently had an encounter in one of the local video shops whilst trying to buy the DVD titled “I Spit on Your Grave (Unrated)”. This film is a remake about a young woman who is brutally raped and later gets revenge by equally brutalising and killing her tormentors. Anyway back to topic.

So I walk into the shop and say to the attendant “I Spit on Your Grave”, the man looks at me with eyes about to pop. “What?” he asks and I repeated the title. This goes twice more before I tell him that I want the DVD by that title. His constricted face falls back into place and he smiles – he finally understood that I was not insulting him!

This incident also reminded me of something I read in Reader’s Digest some years back about a man who walks into this restaurant with his wife. The food is lovely and the music is catchy so he walks up to the bartender and inquires about the song. He asks the first time and the bartender says something. He asks again, louder this time and receives the same answer which results in a barrage of insults to the bartender. Later, when he’s calmer, the wife explains that the band was playing Michael Jackson’s Beat It.

