I am a movies buff. I just can’t get enough. I have listed the top ten movies that I’m looking forward to seeing this year.

1.    Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: Part II

The stars of the Harry Potter franchise
Emma Watson, Daniel Radcliff and Rupert Grint, stars of the Harry Potter franchise.

I am one of the many caught up in the Potter mania and this being the finale of the series is a must see. As someone who has not read the final book, I am still in suspense as to the events in the film. It will be a thirst quenching satisfaction when I finally get to watch this film.

The film will be released in June this year.

2.    Transformer: Dark of the Moon

Megan Fox
Megan Fox not reprising her role in the upcoming Transformers movie

The Transformers trilogy is a classic. As a kid, I used to have breakfast and watch the cartoon every Saturday morning but I grew out of it. As an adult, the movie came out and I fell in love with the characters once more (and Megan Fox). Unfortunately, it is rumored that Megan will not reprise her role.

July 1st is said to be the release date for Transformers: Dark of the Moon.

3.    Pirates of the Caribbean: On Stranger Tides

Captain Jack Sparrow
Captain Jack Sparrow searching for eternal youth.

Captain Jack Sparrow is back and this time he is after another mystical item – the fountain of youth. I just can’t get enough of this series and I’m sure many too. I just love the swashbuckling comic action, the mystical characters and creatures and the hot pirate ladies.

The film is set to be released in May of this year in the US.

4.    A very Harold and Kumar Christmas

Harold and Kumar
John Cho and Kal Penn

These guys are at it again. They have gotten away with so much fun that I’m drooling over their upcoming installment. If you are unfamiliar with these comics, then I suggest watching Harold and Kumar Go to White Castle, Harold and Kumar Escape from Guantamo Bay, and then immerse yourself in the film.

Release date is set for December 23rd .

5.    The Hangover: Part II

Not again!
Not again! LOL 🙂

Drunk with very little recollection of the last 24 hours is something that I’ve experienced. However, it is funny seeing someone else in that situation.

Our favorite party freaks are back and up to their old…err…new party tricks. Anyway, the release date has been set May 26th and I’ve stocked up on some beer for that weekend.

6.    Sherlock Holmes 2

The world’s most famous detective is back. Robert Downey, Jnr. and Jude Law will reprise their roles and Holmes and Watson respectively, this time facing their arch nemesis Prof. Moriarty.

The showdown starts on the 16th of December.

7.    The Bourne Legacy

Jason Bourne is back and this time he’s becoming a legend. The film was set to be released in 2012. However, rumors that it may be released sooner have got me in the mood for some Bourne action.

8.    The Mechanic

This is a remake of the 1972 Charles Bronson film of the same title. Tough guy, Jason Stratham takes on the role of Arthur Bishop aka ‘The Mechanic’, an assassin with a strict code. However, when his mentor gets murdered, it becomes personal and all codes are off.

The film is set to be released on the 28th of January.

9.    Priest

This is an upcoming action horror film starring Paul Bettany (Legion). The release date has been set for May 13th .

10. The Green Lantern

Ryan Reynolds becomes the  Green Lantern and protects the universe, all the while fighting his own demons. It goes green on June 17th .

